Português     English

Developed by Adilmar Dantas





Promoter Instituition: Brazilian Society of Biomedical Engineering

The Brazilian Society of Biomedical Engineering (SBEB) is a nonprofit civil institution of scientific character, acting across the country, with the aim of bringing together the professionals who perform activities in the various fields of Biomedical Engineering. Since its foundation in December 18, 1975, the SBEB has been conducting conferences, symposia and meetings; editing scientific publications and working with governmental agencies and labor organizations. Thus, the SBEB has contributed to scientific advancement, exchange of experiences and policy settings in the areas of healthcare and technology, encouraging the formation and consolidation of educational programs and research groups, as well as promoting the dissemination and recognition of the Biomedical Engineering in Brazil. Internationally, the SBEB is affiliated to IFMBE - International Federation of Medical and Biological Engineering, one the highest body of representativeness of Biomedical Engineering.

The SBEB has increasingly promoted and encouraged technical and scientific exchange among its members in order to satisfy the needs of Health Care and Biomedical Engineering. The society has excelled in the organization of activities in Biomedical Engineering in Brazil and Latin America, such as the publication of the Journal of Biomedical Engineering and the biannual Brazilian Congress of Biomedical Engineering.



Universidade Tecnológica Federal do Paraná

Organizer Institution: Federal University of Technology – Paraná - UTFPR/Curitiba Campus

Av. Sete de Setembro, 3165 - Rebouças - Curitiba – PR – Brazil

CEP: 80230-901

Graduate Program in Electrical and Computer Engineering - CPGEI

Biomedical Engineering Program - PPGEB

Academic Department of Electronics - DAELN

Academic Department of Electrotechnical - DAELT

Academic Department of Physics - DAFIS

Academic Department of Physical Education - DAEFI

Academic Department of Mechanics - DAMEC

Academic Department of Computer Science - DAINF

The history of UTFPR began in 1909, with the School of Apprentices and Craftsmen from Paraná in Curitiba. Along the years, the Institution received several denominations and transformations, such as Technical School of Curitiba (with vocational courses) and Federal Technical School of Paraná (with technical courses at high school level). In 1978, it was transformed in the Federal Center of Technological Education of Paraná (CEFET-PR), starting also to have bachelor courses at several campus in the State of Paraná. In 2005, the CEFET-PR was transformed in the Federal University of Technology - Paraná (UTFPR), with more than 100 technological graduation courses, bachelor's degree (among them engineering), 19 technical courses at high school level, 40 stricto sensu graduate programs and more than 90 specialization courses. The researches in the Biomedical Engineering field began in 1983. In 1986 was created the Nucleus of Clinical Engineering (NEHOS). In 1991 NEHOS joined the Graduate Program in Electrical and Computer Engineering (CPGEI) with master and doctor degree courses. In 2011 was created the Biomedical Engineering Program (PPGEB) with a professional master degree course.

The UTFPR Biomedical Engineering Group has 37 teachers working in the graduate programs (CPGEI and PPGEB) or at the Academic Departments of Electronics (DAELN), Physics (DAFIS), Electrotechnical (DAELT), Physical Education (DAEFI), Computer Science (DAINF), Mechanics (DAMEC), among others. It has also approximately 200 undergraduate and graduate students.